Men’s U-20 Team

Welcome to the U-20 Men’s Team

Go here for Latest Team Updates

Trinidad and Tobago has a rich history of strong performances at the Under 20 Level.

During the 1980s, several of the players who went on to represent the country at the senior level with distinction, formed the nucleus of the Under 20 team that performed admirably in regional competition. Players such as Hutson Charles, Russell Latapy, Leonson Lewis, Michael Maurice, Clint Marcelle, Dwight Yorke, Angus Eve, Jerren Nixon,  Clayton Ince and Marvin Andrews just to name a few were among a strong pool that showed their potential at the youth level.

With Yorke as captain and Bertille St Clair as head coach, T&T sealed its first qualification for a FIFA World Cup, advancing to the 1991 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Portugal.

Fast forward to 2009, and another talented squad with the likes of current outstanding midfielder Kevin Molino, the deceased Akeem Adams, Sheldon Bateau, Khaleem Hyland, Daneil Cyrus, Mekeil Williams,  Jamal Gay and Aubrey David came up trumps in the final CONCACAF stage held in Trinidad and Tobago. They proved to be formidable hosts and were through to the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Cup.

T&T's U-20 Men's Team during a training camp in Nigeria in 2009
T&T’s U-20 Men’s Team during a training camp in United Arab Emirates in 2009

In Egypt, T&T, coached by Zoran Vranes, competed strongly and closed the group phase with a commendable 0-0 draw with Paraguay, after narrowly losing 2-1 to Italy and going down 4-1 to the host nation in the World Cup opener in Alexandra .

The most recent T&T Under 20 Team captured the Caribbean title in 2014, trouncing Haiti 3-0 in the final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain. Under Coach Derek King, the team showed much promise but could not get past the final CONCACAF round in Jamaica despite their outstanding showing in the opening match where they outplayed hosts Jamaica before letting up two late goals in a 2-2 draw.


Michael Mc Comie; Shawn Boney; Kirk Trotman; Nigel Davidson; Dean Pacheco; Richard Theodore; Dwight Yorke; Glen Benjamin; Kerwin Emmanuel; Anthony Sherwood; Jerren Nixon; Granville Millington; Dale Boucher; Roger Henry; Hayden James; Angus Eve; Gavin Moze; Clayton Ince.


Glenroy Samuel; Aubrey David; Curtis Gonzales; Sheldon Bateau; Akeem Adams; Leston Paul; Kevin Molino; Sean De Silva; Jamaal Gay; Qian Grosvenor; Khaleem Hyland; Robert Primus; Juma Clarence; Jean Luc Rochford; Uriah Bentick; Marcus Joseph; Mekeil Williams; Jake Thomson; Daneil Cyrus; Andre Marchan; Jesse Fullerton.

Trinidad and Tobago hosted the Concacaf Under 20 Men’s Championship in  1984,1986, 1998, 2001 and 2009.

Go Here for the Current Under 20 Team Player Profiles