T&T Draw in Group B of CONCACAF Caribbean Men’s Olympic qualifiers

Trinidad and Tobago has been drawn in Group B of the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament. This country will come up against US Virgin Islands, Cuba and Barbados. This is the Caribbean phase of qualifiers from which the leading teams from four groups will advance to the CONCACAF Final Round following which the top two nations will qualify for the 2020 Summer Olympics in Japan.

Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica Haiti and Antigua & Barbuda were pre-seeded into positions A1, B1, C1, and D1 respectably, as the 4 top Caribbean teams on the FIFA- Coca Cola Ranking for the draw which took place on Wednesday morning.

The competition will be played in a group stage phase for the Caribbean and in a home-and-away series for Central America. Two teams from the Caribbean and three teams from Central America will qualify to the Men’s Olympic Qualifier final round.
The preliminary round of the Men’s Olympic Qualifier will take place in four venues in the Caribbean and in the six PMA’s from Central America from July 17 to July 21, 2019.

For the Caribbean, the Qualifying Group Phase will be staged in four (4) host countries. It will consist of four (4) groups of four (4) teams. The four (4) winners of each group will advance to a final play-in matches and the winners of the two play-in matches will qualify to the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying final stage.. In Central America, a home-and-away series will be play between the six (6) participating teams. The three winners of each series will qualify to the Men’s Olympic qualifier. The preliminary round will be played in the same window of July 17 to July 21, 2019.

The 2019 Championship will be the 15th edition of the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament, the quadrennial international age-restricted football tournament organised by CONCACAF to determine which men’s under-23 national teams from the North, Central American and Caribbean region qualify for the Olympic football tournament.

The eight berths were allocated to the three regional zones as follows:
• Three teams from the North American Zone (NAFU), i.e., Canada, Mexico and the hosts United States, who all qualified automatically due to them being the only teams in the region
• Three teams from the Central American Zone (UNCAF)
• Two teams from the Caribbean Zone (CFU)

Football at the Olympics is an older tradition than the World Cup and it will return for the 27th time when the 2020 summer tournament rolls round. Some of the world’s most iconic footballers have graced the Olympics, including Lionel Messi, Neymar, Andrea Pirlo, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo.

A total of 16 teams will compete in the men’s football section of the 2020 Olympics.

Japan qualify automatically as hosts and they will be joined by 15 other national teams drawn from around the world.

The top four teams from the UEFA Under-21 European Championship qualify, with three coming from the U-23 Africa Cup of Nations and three more qualifying from the AFC U-23 Championship.

Two teams will represent South America in the tournament with the CONMEBOL pre-Olympics tournament deciding which and two teams will also qualify from the CONCACAF region in Central and North America.One team from the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) will reach the Olympics.

The Americas have dominated the latest Olympic football tournaments.
🇦🇷Argentina – 2004, 2008
🇲🇽Mexico – 2012
🇧🇷Brazil – 2016

The women’s football section will see 12 teams compete for gold, but qualification is somewhat different to the men’s.
Japan qualify as hosts and they are joined by Brazil, who won the 2018 Copa America and New Zealand, who won the 2018 OFC Nations Cup.

Three more teams will be drawn from the 2019 Women’s World Cup, two from the CONCACAF qualifying championship and two from the AFC qualifying tournament.

One team will come through the CAF qualifying tournament and another will be decided in the CAF-CONMEBOL (Africa-South America) play-off.