Final U-20 Squad named for CONCACAF Qualifiers

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 20 Head Coach on Thursday announced a final 20-man roster to participate at the upcoming CONCACAF U-20 Men’s Championship at the IMG Academy, Bradenton, Florida from November 1st.

Latapy’s team resumed training on Tuesday at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

“It’s a situation where we’ve come up with what is the best squad available to us at this time and we’ll head entering the tournament with the intentions of giving the best possible performance. I’ve always treated any football match or competition in that manner as a player and as a coach and it will be no different this time around,” Latapy said.

T&T will feature in Group A and will meet St Vincent and the Grenadines in their first match on November 1st. They then face Puerto Rico (Nov 3rd), United States (Nov 5th),Suriname (Nov 7th) and US Virgin Islands on November 9th. Only the Group winners of the six groups will advance to the next phase of two qualifying from which the top two teams from each group will qualify for the 2019 FIFA Under 20 Men’s World Cup in Poland.

The 2018 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship will be the 6th edition of the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship (27th edition if all eras included), the men’s under-20 international football tournament organized by CONCACAF. It will be hosted at Bradenton, Florida, United States between 1–21 November 2018.

A new format was announced, removing the regional Central American and Caribbean qualifiers and guaranteeing each entrant a minimum of four competitive games.

The competition will determine the four CONCACAF representatives at the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Poland.It will also determine the CONCACAF teams playing at the 2019 Pan American Games men’s football tournament in Lima. United States are the defending CONCACAF champions.

T&T Squad.

Goalkeepers: Denzil Smith (W Connection), Jabari Brice (Unattached).

Defenders: Luke Singh (Toronto FC II), Kerdell Sween (Trinity College East),Derron John (Club Sando); Jerrin Jackie (Presentation College), Justin Homer (Kean University—US), Mikel Mieres (Morvant Caledonia Utd), Matthew Beal (Shiva Boys Hindu College),

Midfielders: Jabarry Francis (Club Sando), Judah Garcia (Point Fortin Civic), Shaqkeem Joseph (Moruga Secondary), Ethan Bonaparte (St Augustine Secondary); Che Benny (Leixões—Portugal), Kishon Hackshaw (St Ann’s Rangers), John-Paul Rochford (QRC), Nickel Orr (San Juan Jabloteh), Mark Ramdeen (Naparima College).

Forwards: Jaydon Prowell (North East Stars), Isaiah Lee (Monroe College—US).

Head Coach – Russell Latapy.