T&T Women record second win in CONCACAF Caribbean qualifiers

Trinidad and Tobago recorded their second successive win in CONCACAF Caribbean Women’s World Cup qualifying Group C action on Monday at the Ato Boldon Stadium

The hosts did what was expected of them but it was far from a walk in the part for them as Dominica put on a fighting display, staying organised for most parts to contain the T&T Women Warriors on the evening. 

T&T got out of the starting blocks early once more with Jenelle Cunningham opening the scoring in the 5th minute with a shot that entered the net on the rise from close up. Dominica did not pose much of a threat to T&T’s defence but they stayed disciplined for most parts and never allowed T&T to get into a dominant mode. 

Rhea Belgrave put T&T 2-0 ahead in the 36th minute and Karyn Forbes rifled another long range effort from a direct free kick past goalkeeper Kimberly Elie in the 54th minute.  

“We are happy to get three points and we continue to move along. It was a good tactical and defensive game by the opponent and we respect that,” T&T Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz said after the match.  USVI bounced back from Saturday’s heavy loss to the hosts, to defeat Grenada 3-0 in Monday’s opening game of the double header.

T&T  : 1.Saundra Baron (GK); 4.Rhea Belgrave (3.Anastasia Prescott 68), 2.Ayanna Russell, 5.Jenelle Cunningham; 8.Patrice Superville, 11.Janine Francois, 14.Karyn Forbes (19.Aaliyah Prince, 70′), 7.Jonelle Cato; 12.Summer Arjoon, 10.Tasha St Louis (capt), 9.Mariah Shade (18.Naomie Guerra, 78′).

Subs not Used: 20.Nicolette Craig (GK), 6.Natasha St Louis, 13.Andrea Young, 15.Taylor Mims, 16.Kedie Johnson, 17.Shaunalee Govia.

Head Coach: Jamaal Shabazz

Dominica:  12.Kimberly Elei (GK); 20.Alanna Finn (17.Keanna Francis 63), 14.Kylee Bertand, 6.Kira Bertrand, 4.Kimara Sabaroche, 8.Kasika Samuel; 19.Chazelle Phillip, 11.Rosilia Registe (capt), 16.Michlyn Morgan (9.Donisha Xavier, 55′); 3.Alijah Titre (5.Henrica Samuel, 43′); 10.Romelcia Phillip.

Subs not Used 1.Christina Sobers (GK), 2.Myah Raymond, 7.Ezra Elwin, 13.Keandra Francis, 15.Tafari Bertrand, 18.Cassandra Augustine.

Head Coach: Rajesh Latchoo