Lawrence picks 19-man squad for Ecuador Friendly

Trinidad and Tobago senior men head coach Dennis Lawrence on Saturday finalised a 19man squad to travel to Ecuador for Wednesday’s International Friendly in Guayaquil against Ecuador’s senior men’s team.

Following six days of training sessions with a provisional squad of 25, Lawrence and his assistant coaches came down to their final selection on the weekend

Both Keon Daniel and Rundell Winchester were ruled out due to injuries sustained this week in training while Keron Clarke will not travel to Guayaquil due to failure to obtain a passport in time to travel with the team which is scheduled to depart on Monday. Efforts were made up to late on Friday to have the passport expedited but without success. ┬áMexican-based player Jomal Williams will also miss Wednesday’s encounter because of a club related matter as he is currently awaiting a work permit renewal. W Connection winger Neil Benjamin Jr. has been drafted into the final squad. He trained with the bunch on Saturday and will also take part in Sunday’s final session on home soil.

“We’ve got in six sessions with the group in preparation for Wednesday’s match. The response from the boys has been good and we’ve come down to the final 19 that will travel on Monday,” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“It was also good to have had a few of the younger ones involved in the training as it would no doubt be valuable experience for them. Unfortunately we have lost two wingers, hence we’ve brought in young Neil Benjamin into the squad. We’ll have one final session in Guayaquil on Tuesday ahead of what I expect will be a solid test for us on Wednesday,” Lawrence said.

The game will take place on Wednesday night at the Estadio Banco Del Pacifico in Guayaquil.

T&T 19-man squad

Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre), Andre Marchan (Defence Force), Kevin Villaroel (North East Stars), Carlyle Mitchell (East Bengal FC), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Carlos Edwards (Central FC), Maurice Ford (W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Jared London (Club Sando), Leston Paul (North East Stars), Nathaniel Garcia (Central FC), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Neil Benjamin jr. (W Connection), Sean De Silva (Central FC), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Tyrone Charles (Club Sando) and Willis Plaza (East Bengal FC)

Photos shows the team during a session at Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday/TTFA Media.