Concacaf League draw completed in Miami

Miami (Wednesday, May 31, 2017) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted today the draw for the inaugural season of the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League, at the Hilton Miami Airport Hotel in Miami, Florida.

The Scotiabank CONCACAF League, the new club competition of CONCACAF, features 16 top club teams from the Central American and Caribbean region. The tournament is played in direct elimination knockout round format, with home-and-away rounds set to begin in early August.

Wednesday’s official draw, which sorted the sixteen qualified clubs into eight parings for the first round of the competition, was opened with remarks from Pedro Chaluja, CONCACAF Council Member and Panamanian Football Federation President. The draw was conducted by CONCACAF General Secretary, Phillipe Moggio with the assistance of former players Alvaro Saborio from Costa Rica and Omar Daley from Jamaica.

The Round of 16 pairing for the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League are as follows:

Matchup #1: San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) v Santos de Guapiles FC (CRC)
Matchup #2: CD Honduras Progreso (HON) v Chorrillo FC (PAN)
Matchup #3: CD Arabe Unido (PAN) v Central FC (TRI)
Matchup #4: Real Esteli FC (NIC) v CD Aguila (SLV)
Matchup #5: LD Alajuelense (CRC) v CD Olimpia (HON)
Matchup #6: Alianza FC (SLV) v Platense FC (HON)
Matchup #7: CD Plaza Amador (PAN) v Portmore United FC (JAM)
Matchup #8: Belmopan Bandits (BLZ) v CD Walter Ferretti (NIC)