NFA honours 2016 Winners

The Northern Football Association (NFA) led by President Anthony Harford held its Awards Ceremony for the 2016 season last Thursday at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The respective tournament winners received their silverware and cash awards with Maple FC taking the Premier League, Cultural Roots topping the Championship League, RSSR finishing as the FA Cup Champions and Alcons the Fruta Cup Champions.

The NFA also honoured three of itsexisting member clubs for its contribution over fifty-plus years -St Francois nationals -50 years old,Malvern- 75 years old and Maple -100 years old in 2017.

For their distinguished service to the local game, the following individuals were also recognised -Rolf Bartolo. Glenford Waines.Mervin Mercian,Aubrey Peters (Motown).
and the late Rudy Roberts.

Paul Regis of Maple receives an award from NFA’s Angus Eve. Allan V. Crane/CA-images/NFA

The Five Premiership Players of the Year for 2016 were –
· Kern Cesar.- Maple FC.
· Kusiah King.- New Millenium.
· Jabari Andall – St Francois Nationals.
· Hakim Gulston- RSSR.
· Kereem Davidson- Blemont FC.
· MVP- Kern Cesar- Maple- Goal Keeper.

Championship Division Players of the Year – 
Marlon Carrington- Alcons,
Isiah Irish- Alcons,
Marcus Ashton- Cultural Roots
Kareem Charles Miscellaneous Laventille Utd
Christon Freitas- Cultural Roots.
MVP  –  Christon Freitas.


“We felt the 2016 season was a solid one. All our competitions were completed and the participation level was satisfactory with us being able to crown our winners in  every  one of our competitions. We also had a near perfect attendance by our referees and there was an impressive debut of the Savannah League with games played under lights at the Queen’s Park Savannah.Additionally our youth development programme has been up and running and is one of the major focal points of the Association and we were quite pleased to see ten of our players being selected on the National Under 15 boys Team to go to Cayman Islands in May. All in all, our season was satisfactory and we will be aiming to build on this and make improvements in the various departments in 2017.” – Anthony Harford, NFA President.

Photo at top of page shows former T&T Goalkeeper Clayton Ince presenting the Premiership “MVP” Award to Kern Caesar of Maple FC.