U-20 Men draw 1-1 with Bermuda

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 men secured a point after playing to a 1-1 draw with Bermuda in their opening match of the CONCACAF Under 20 Men’s Championship in at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium in Costa Rica today.

T&T went ahead in the 22nd minute when Kathon St Hillaire shot home following a clever assist by Nicholas Dillon but Bermuda grabbed an equaliser in the 69th minute through Oneko Lowe.

El Salvador stunned hosts Costa Rica in the other group game later today with Roberto Dominguez snatching a 65th minute winner.

T&T would be thinking that the three points was theirs for the taking after creating the better openings of the two teams. Skipper Jabari Mitchell had two decent chances but couldn’t find the target. First he saw a failed volley attempt and then a decent crack from a free kick which clipped the crossbar.

After the match head coach Brian Williams didn’t hide his disappointment with his team being unable to take three points from their opening fixture.

“We came into the match with a lot of expectations of taking the three points but unfortunately it didn’t turn out that way for us today. What this means it we have made things harder for us and after the game we had a chat and the players realise that. It is important they know that going into the next two games,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“But I cannot fault the players for a lack of effort and hard work. I thought they gave that in the game but unfortunately it didn’t bring us the result we would have all liked. Now we will recover from this and approach the next game with a strong sense of belief that we can get the job done.” Williams added.

T&T faces host nation Costa Rica on Wednesday.

Trinidad and Tobago line up – (4-2-3-1): 20.Montel Joseph (GK); 2.Isaiah Garcia, 3. Kori Cupid, 4. Shane Sandy, 5.Taryk Sampson, 8.Kierron Mason; 11.Noah Powder; 13.Micah Lansiquot (19.Taofik Lucas Walker, 81’), 10.Jabari Mitchell (captain), 15.Kathon St Hillaire; 9.Nicholas Dillon (14.Josh Toussaint 62’).

Subs not used – 1.Denzil Smith (GK), 6.Simeon Bailey, 7.Morgan Bruce De Rouche, 12.Joshua Sitney, 16.Rushawn Murphy, 17.Stephon Marcano, 18.Joshua Leach.

Coach: Brian Williams