Lawrence announces 27-man Provisional Training Squad

Trinidad and Tobago Head Coach Dennis Lawrence today named a 27-man provisional squad to begin a training camp on February 20th.

This is Lawrence’s first training camp since being appointed as head coach last month. Today he also met with the selected players and members of his backroom staff that are currently in the country. This is not the final squad as the overseas-based players are not available for training during the upcoming period.

Lawrence will name a final squad closer the 2018 World Cup qualifying matches against Panama on March 24th and Mexico on March 28th at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain

The upcoming training camp will break on February 25th and resumed on March 1st.


“My coaching set up is that on every particular session, every coach will have a role to play in the session. So there is no defensive coach or attacking coach or midfield coach. That is not the way of my structure. My structure is a coaching staff, that based on every session, every coach is going to have a role to play in the session.”

“The players on this list are only the players that immediately going to start with me. The other players are still available for selection if and when needed.

“I think is important is to work with the local players from now. The (Pro) League will be concluded on Sunday. So what I have done is selected the local players to work with the local players and to start building on some, so that these players will be able to push for a position on the team, come March 24.

On selection of Stuart Charles Ferrier and Stern John as assistant coaches..

“I picked people around me I am comfortable to work with and (who) have the same ambition. The same goals I want to achieve, they want to achieve.

“I think Stuarty’s CV speaks from itself. What Stuarty  will give to me is the information I have been missing over the years I have been in the UK.”

“I think it is important that we start educating our own as well. I want to help Stern as well, by educating him to become the best possible coach that he can become. So that, come a couple years down the road, we got a coach readymade, Stern, to go on and the world is at his feet.”

– Dennis Lawrence

The selected players are as follows 


Jan Michael Williams -Central FC
Marvin Phillips -Caledonia AIA
Glenroy Samuel -Ma Pau Stars
Adrian Foncette -Police FC
Andre Marchan -Defence Force


Carlyle Mitchell – Unattached
Julius James -Central FC
Radanfah Abu Bakr – Unattached
Daneil Cyrus -Unattached
Jelani Peters -W-Connection
Alvin Jones -W-Connection
Curtis Gonzales -Defence Force
Jesus Perez -W Connection
Tristan Hodge -W Connection


Leston Paul -Central FC
Sean De Silva -Central FC
Jared London -Club Sando
Hughtun Hector -W Connection
Tyrone Charles -San Juan Jabloteh
Akeem Humphrey -Club Sando
Jamoul Francois – St Ann’s Rangers
Nathan Lewis -San Juan Jabloteh


Keron Cummings -Central FC
Hash Arcia -Defence Force
Akeem Roach -Club Sando
James Perry -Police FC
Jamie Boatswain -Defence Force

Photo at top shows Dennis Lawrence addressing the media today/ courtesy Nicholas Bhajan.

Watch Video of today’s Press Briefing