John Williams appointed to FIFA Players’ Status Committee

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association is pleased to announce that its President, David John-Williams, has been appointed member of the FIFA Players’ Status Committee.

The letter of appointment was sent to John-Williams by FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura on Wednesday and announced by FIFA today.

“We are pleased to inform you that you have been appointed member of the Players’ Status Committee. We wish you our sincere congratulations on this appointment,” Samoura stated in the letter.

“We wish you great success and enjoyment in this role at FIFA and look forward to welcoming you soon to Zurich,” she added.

John-Williams gave a brief reaction, saying, “I am pleased, honoured and humbled by this appointment and the opportunity given to me. I remain devoted to serving the game and I will continue to do this to the best of my ability.”

The FIFA Players’ Status Committee (PSC) shall set up and monitor compliance with the Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players and determine the status of Players for various FIFA competitions. Its powers of jurisdiction are governed by the Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players. The relevant decisions are published on .

The 21-man committee will be chaired by South African Raymond Hack. The full committee can be seen here

John-Williams appointment is for the period 2017-2021.

Dwight Yorke
Dwight Yorke

Also receiving a FIFA appointment for the same period is former National Team Captain Dwight Yorke. The former Manchester United forward was appointed to FIFA ‘s Development Committee.

The Development Committee shall primarily analyse the basic aspects of football training and technical development. The full committee can be seen here

“I am humbled by this appointment. It presents me with a chance to have an input and be part of the work being done by FIFA to develop the game worldwide and I feel privileged to be part of it. I am definitely looking forward to making a contribution,” Yorke told TTFA Media.

FIFA’s nine standing committees report to the FIFA Council, advising and assisting the Council in their respective fields of function. The composition and structure, including qualification and number of members fulfilling independence criteria as well as the specific duties and powers of the individual committees, shall be stipulated in the FIFA Governance Regulations.