Local Clubs participants start FIFA Training Compensation and Solidarity Contribution Workshop

The first day of the FIFA Training Compensation and Solidarity Contribution Workshop hosted by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association takes place today ( Saturday June 11th   at the Audio Visual Room, Naparima College from 10am

The workshop will be conducted by Messrs Georg Froese and Jan Schwele. Pro League and Super League clubs will participate and the workshop is also opened to other local club who can register on Saturday morning before the start of proceedings at the venue. The workshop will shift to Tobago on Sunday.

The TTFA believes that local clubs can benefit by being educated on the process.

FIFA Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players, Article 20, Training Compensation, establishes a system where by youth clubs who produce a professional player must be paid a specific amount of money when the player signs his first professional contract.  Youth clubs must be compensated for all of the years the club trained a player from age twelve (12) through age eighteen (18).  The amount to be paid is determined by a categorical scale that FIFA produces every year

The term “solidarity payments” is commonly used to describe distinct regimes for the distribution of money within the football community, including:

  1. Sums payable to clubs involved in a player’s training, upon a player registering for the first time as a professional player, or upon the international transfer of a player before the end of the season of his 23rd birthday, calculated by reference to a specified formula; and,
  2. Sums payable to clubs involved in a player’s training and education, upon the international transfer of a player (prior to the expiry of his employment contract), calculated by reference to the amount of the transfer compensation.

There will be twenty five participants including one from Guyana, attending the workshop on Saturday and TTFA President David John-Williams and members of the Executive and TTFA Board will also be present.

The Participants – Anthony Creed (Secondary Schools Football League), Chuvalos George (Valtrin United FC), Colm De Freitas (Queen’s Park FC), David Martin (W Connection FC), Renee John-Wiliams (W Connection FC), Dexter Cyrus (Petrotrin FC), Dexter Scott (Valtrin United), Eddison dean (Club Sando FC), Fareez Khan (Club Sando FC), Gerald Elliot (SSFL), Jimmy Gonzales (Petrotrin), Keith Jeffrey (San Juan Jabloteh FC), Marlon Diaz (T&T Prisons), Michael De Four (Cunupia Football GC), Michael Villafana (Edinburgh 500 Youth Football Academy), Piers Ryan (T&T Prisons), Rajesh Latchoo, Ricarda Nelson, Sejoux Leo Star (Caledonia AIA Ltd), Wayne Caesar (Club Sando FC), Jafar Gibbons (Guyana), Quasie Smith, Sterling O’Brien (Defence Force FC), Andrew Boodhoo, Leonita Rivers (Police FC)